FAQ: Florida’s Medical Marijuana Program 2021
Updated: Jul 29
Florida’s Medical Marijuana Program
The use of medical marijuana was legalized in the state of Florida on November 8, 2016. The Office of Medical Marijuana Use which was established by the state Department of Health is responsible for overseeing the program.
Who Can Recommend Medical Marijuana in Florida?
Under Florida law, a physician must have an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, F.S., or an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, F.S. Additionally, a physician employed as a medical director by a dispensing organization may not order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for patients.
Physicians are also required to complete a two-hour registry course and examination. The course and examination are provided by the Florida Medical Association and the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association.
The Florida Office of Medical Marijuana Use provides a list of registered physicians who have completed the required training and are certified to prescribe the use of medical marijuana.
Who is Eligible for Medical Marijuana in Florida?
To be recommended medical marijuana in the state of Florida, a patient must be at least 18 years of age and be either a permanent or seasonal resident of the state. The patient must also suffer from and be diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions.
What are Qualifying Medical Conditions Under Florida Law?
Current as of 2021, there are 10 listed qualifying conditions for which a patient may be prescribed the use of medical marijuana:
A Terminal Condition diagnosed by a physician other than the physician issuing certification
Chronic Nonmalignant Pain Caused by a Qualifying Medical Condition
*A patient may also qualify for certification if they have been diagnosed with a condition comparable to those mentioned above.
Registering a Caregiver in Florida
Under Florida law, someone recommended for medical marijuana may register as a caregiver. Once a qualified caregiver is registered, they may purchase and pick up medical marijuana on behalf of the patient.
To register a caregiver in the state of Florida, the caregiver must be at least 21 years of age and not a qualified physician. A patient may only designate one caregiver at a time and patients under the age of 18 must register a qualified caregiver to handle their prescription.
How Do I Get My Medical Marijuana Card in Florida?
If you are interested in obtaining your medical marijuana card and you suffer from one of the qualifying conditions, the first step is scheduling a visit with a medical marijuana doctor.
You can schedule a visit with a doctor either in person or via telehealth.
OMNI Medical Services can help you prepare for your appointment and with your medical records so that you can discuss your options. Once our licensed doctors are able to confirm your condition and approve you to be treated with medical marijuana you will receive an email from the Office of Medical Marijuana Use which will include instructions for the identification card application process which required a fee of $75.
You will again be notified when your application is approved, and you will receive your medical marijuana card.